Miso Soup for the Soul!

20150126_221251As I type this entry, I am peering out of my window to a blanket of white stuff on the grass and asphalt around me. It’s February, so yes, the dead of winter is still upon us. With the winter season, comes memories of a childhood long ago. I recall sipping rich hot chocolate with warm chocolate chip cookies in my bed with Pikachu slippers. Ah, the life! But of course, we cannot get away with just hot sugary beverages on top of sugary dough. Our bodies require substance, so what do we normally turn to during the frost? Soup!

Most soups today are loaded with tons of sodium and other unfavorable ingredients that make you think twice about placing that vegetable-laden silver spoon in your mouth. Especially for children, most commercial soups should be avoided. So, what’s an alternative?

A couple weeks ago, I finished my 7-Day Cleanse Challenge using NutriClean’s detox kit. It was an amazing experience that I highly recommend for everyone. It requires a lot of water, a small regiment of herbal supplements, but most importantly, a good diet. Being semi-vegan, it was not tough adhering to lots of fruits and vegetables, but that did not mean stocking up on canned vegetable soup for a week.

As you can see in previous entries, I decided to make my own food. I am all too accustomed with this, as my exploration with the Virgin Diet and macrobiotics, has trained me to do so regularly, if not all the time.

For Japanese cuisine lovers like myself, miso soup may not be foreign; it’s a common side that is served with entree orders. The problem is, most miso soup served in restaurants pales in comparison to traditionally made miso.

In Japan, miso soup is regarded as one of the world’s strongest medicines. “But isn’t it just soup?” you may be asking. Unlike most popular soups, miso soup is high in protein, and has essential vitamins, minerals, and enzymes to support a healthy lifestyle and digestion. So, this is not your grandmother’s soup (sorry grandmom).

20150126_213616

Miso is usually made from soybeans, grains such as brown rice or millet, salt, etc. The paste that is formed from these ingredients is usually added to water along with tofu, sea vegetables, or other complimentary items. And one last thing, the miso is fermented, so it packs a punch in flavor.

During my 7-Day Cleanse, I improvised with some ingredients, but still made a hearty and delicious soup.

Adzuki Bean Miso Soup

Mushrooms

Carrots

Leeks

Greens (Mustard, Collards, Spinach, Kale)

South River Adzuki Bean Miso Paste

Tamari Sauce

  • Chop 1-2 carrots, ½ – 1 leek, and 3-4 mushrooms (shiitake preferred) and toss them into a saucepan
  • Add a quart of water and bring to a boil. Lower the heat and simmer for about 10 minutes.
  • Add about 1 cup of greens to the saucepan and set aside away from the heat.
  • Add about 2-3 tbsps of miso paste to the saucepan once the water has cooled down a bit and 1-2 tsp of tamari sauce. (Note, adding the miso to boiling water would kill off essential enzymes.)

20150126_220828

This miso soup recipe is not 100% traditional. One, I decided to use greens instead of seaweed/sea vegetables, such as wakame. Two, miso paste and tamari sauce can be high in sodium, so the amounts I added were merely for taste preferences. There’s also so much more to know about the miso itself, and the fact that not just any paste would do (South River is regarded as one of the best).

Overall, this recipe yields a delicious, homemade soup that you do not have to feel guilty about consuming yourself, and also serving to others on a cold, wintry day. Enjoy!

20150126_221215

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Food for Thought, Health, Nutrition, Recipe

Leave a comment