Vegetarian Roast Duck (“Mock Duck”) w/ Brussels Sprouts

I first tasted roast duck at one of my favorite Chinese restaurants a few years ago. Not as tender as chicken, and a lot more oily, it became one my favorite meats. Since then, I have opted for leaner meat choices, and more vegetarian options, so this recipe caught my eye! A close friend of mine introduced me to what her family calls, mock duck, which is made out of bean curd.

Along with the vegetarian roast duck, we prepared delicious brussels sprouts.

 Ingredients: (Recipe will serve 4 people)

  •  2 packets of bean curd sheets
  • 2 pounds of brussels sprouts
  • 1/2 Cup of Chopped Onions
  • Natural Soy Sauce
  • Garlic Powder
  • Onion Powder
  • Sea Salt
  • Pepper

The hardest ingredient to find for this recipe, may be the bean curd sheets. Bean curd sheets, also known as tofu skin, are commonly used in Chinese and vegetarian dishes. It is a product of soy, which is rich in calcium, iron, and most of all, protein. I was able to find my sheets at a market in Philadelphia’s Chinatown.

Image 1

Image 2

Image 2

Image 3

Image 4

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1– The first step for this dish, is to remove the bean curd sheets from their packages. When unfolded, each sheet is circular in shape (Image 1).

2– Next, rip each sheet into small squares, no bigger than a slice of cheese. (Note, this will take a bit of time. You may want to divide each sheet into quarters, and rip them individually)

3– While ripping your sheets, place each square into a large bowl of water. Continue to add more water to the bowl to saturate the squares (Image 2).

4– When all of your bean curd squares have become a pasty white color, place them into a strainer to drain (Make sure the bean curd sheets are dry).

5– Now, in a separate bowl, season the squares to taste with garlic powder, onion powder, sea salt, and soy sauce. (Because the bean curd has a bland taste, use a generous amount of seasonings for flavor).

6– Massage the seasonings into the squares so that they are fully saturated. Place the seasoned bean curd into a large oven-safe casserole dish (Image 4).

7– Cook the bean curd on 375° for about 45-50 minutes, or until golden.

The texture of the roast “duck” will be crunchy on the top, with the inside being tender, and flavorful due to the absorption of seasonings!

 

 Brussels Sprouts:

  • 1-Carefully halve each one once or twice with a straight-edge knife, after removing the stems.
  • 2- In a saucepan, heat a tablespoon of oil over a medium flame and sautée your chopped onions.
  • 3- Mix the brussels sprouts into the onions, and over low heat, cook for 7-10 minutes, until the leaves are tender and bright green. (Frequently turn the brussels sprouts, and season them with pepper and garlic powder for taste).
Serve the vegetarian roast duck hot out of the oven with the brussels sprouts for a nourishing meal!
If you’re in the Philly area, and have trouble finding the bean curd sheets, contact me!

4 Comments

Filed under Food, Nutrition, Recipe

4 responses to “Vegetarian Roast Duck (“Mock Duck”) w/ Brussels Sprouts

  1. I’m definitely going to try this… next time I venture to Chinatown I’m purchasing the necessities!

  2. Mark

    I think there are different qualities/varieties of bean curd skin. The one I used was still quite tough even after soaking in very hot water for 15 minutes and then steaming for an hour. I tried to make another “duck” recipe and it came out like a flat leathery wad of soggy newspaper rather than tender and more ‘puffy’. Any suggestions as to exactly what to look for in a bean curd skin? I noticed some are rather durable while others are so fragile they break in the package into tiny pieces if you’re not careful.

  3. Hi Mark, I am not sure if you’ll receive a notification for this, so I will probably e-mail you directly to be safe.

    There probably are many types of bean curd skin. The one I used was the ONLY one I have ever come across though at a Chinese market. You mentioned using hot water. The bean curd I used was capable of softening in cold, or room temperature water, and altogether it soaked for no more than 20 minutes. I am not sure if heating it alters the consistency of the bean curd, but I do know the one I purchased was pretty durable. When tearing, it takes a good thrust, and it did not shatter easily. I can try posting a picture of the EXACT sheets I used for this recipe.

    Thanks for the feedback.

Leave a comment