The Amazing Dragon Fruit

By now, you may have already guessed that I am a very adventurous eater. I like to try new foods all the time, especially new fruits. There is so much more out there than just apples and oranges. Across the world, there are a variety of exotic, nutritious fruits.

This week, I decided to take a trip to Philadelphia’s Chinatown to purchase dragon fruit, also known as Pitaya. It is a popular fruit in Southeast Asia, Central and South America.

Dragon fruit is widely known for its flamboyant appearance. The outer layer of the fruit is made up of bright red and pink hues, with the inner parts being a marvel itself. The fruit’s flesh comes in various colors (white, pink, etc.), resembling a sparkling gem when cut open.

What does dragon fruit taste like?

Personally, dragon fruit reminds me of a cross between a yellow kiwi (which is much milder than its green counterpart) and a semi-sweet melon (cantaloupe, Korean melon, etc).

One will also experience that the fruit is embedded with small seeds similar to that of a kiwi. They give it a nice crisp texture.

So, if you’re looking for a very sweet, citrus fruit, you may want to look elsewhere. Many think that its taste is rather bland. However, dragon fruit does make for a very decorative food piece. This colorful, cactus-like food would be a unique addition to your typical fruit salad. Below you can read how to arrange it!

How To Eat Dragon Fruit:

1- Cut straight down the middle of the fruit on a cutting board and separate it into two halves

2- Use a spoon to scoop out the flesh and remove any excess skin

3- Cut the fruit into small portions and place them into the now vacant skin, and serve!

Dragon fruit may be difficult to find. Local supermarkets do not carry the fruit, but search nearby Asian markets. I hope you give it a try.

4 Comments

Filed under Food, Nutrition

4 responses to “The Amazing Dragon Fruit

  1. You finally got your hands on one! I think the flavor is too delicate for me, but it is an interesting hint of taste and texture.

    • Yes, I agree. I probably won’t be eating it regularly, but I have found it to be fascinating! I definitely want to have some freshly picked ones. I may have to travel East, lol.

  2. How much did you pay for a dragon fruit, I want to give it a try!

    • I forget the exact cost, but I think it was in the range of 3-4 dollars per piece of fruit. Mine were quite small too, so if you want a fresh, reasonably sized dragonfruit, I think it may run you a bit more. Hope you enjoy!

Leave a comment