FoodSpotting: Nectar Restaurant

When I think of “nectar,” the words pleasant and sweet come to mind. Such a description is more than fitting for this culinary gem on the Main Line.

Nectar is a unique blend of both Asian and French cuisine. The eclectic style that the restaurant presents is not just experienced in every bite, but also in the ambiance and décor. With its tall ceilings, elegant setting, and larger than life rendering of Buddha, the restaurant is a sight to see.

Of course, the food was amazing too! But, with a restaurant as lavish as Nectar, one can only expect equally lavish prices. Not to be afraid, Nectar does not cost an arm and a leg, but expect to spend. It’s worth it.

For my appetizer, I had the Chicken Curry Pot Sticker Dumplings. If you’re a fan of dumplings, you’ll enjoy this marriage of two food styles. It was all too reminiscent of some of my favorite Indian dishes.

Next, for my entrée , I had the Vegetarian Wild Mushroom Pad Thai. Once again, I went for a familiar dish with a twist. As a mushroom lover, I could truly appreciate the addition.The mushrooms were tender and absorbed the abundant flavors of the Pad Thai. Note, that when reading the menu, this dish is listed as a side portion, but the amount you receive is more than adequate for one person.

Initially, I was going to pass on dessert. I had only planned to spend a very specific amount on my food, but the waiter’s descriptions were too mouth watering for me to pass up. So, I gave in.

If Peanut Butter Semifreddo sounds sinister, well that’s because it is. On the left of your plate, you have a scoop of milk chocolate malted ice cream fixed in a crunchy, peanut tuile shell! On the right, you have a tastefully decadent pyramid. It consisted of a warm piece of brownie at the bottom with a mound of ice cream, and chocolate striations on the side. This was as appealing to the eye as it was delicious.

On Nectar’s website, you’ll see this quote: “Approach love and cooking with reckless abandon,” by the Dalai Lama. I believe that these words truly represent Nectar’s passion for providing great food, and an even better experience. I look forward to my return.

Nectar is located at 1091 Lancaster Ave. Berwyn, PA

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a comment