A Taste of Italy

Venice

What seems like almost a lifetime ago, this new year marks the four-year anniversary of my trip to Italy. For those observant ones, you may have noticed the image within the header of this blog. It is a picture I took of the Florence Cathedral, otherwise known as Basilica di Santa Maria del Fiore.

It may seem of little value to you, but such a photo serves as a precious reminder of my first trip abroad, my first take on the world. In fact, my time in Florence, Rome, and Venice, opened my eyes to an array of wonders that this beautiful planet has to offer. I was immersed in a wealth of culture, art, language, and of course food!

Whether it was the thin-crust pizza, al dente (to the tooth) pasta, or the savory, frozen dessert, gelato, Italy could peak the taste buds of just about anyone! It’s very true that you can find all of these aforementioned foods here in America, but the taste and quality is just not the same.  

Til this day, I still long for another slice of Sicilian-style pizza that I had on my first day in Florence. My friends and I, with wide eyes, were drawn to the aroma and taste of that small piece of bliss. It was the last thing I thought I would be eating, but authentic Italian pizza was like no other. The size, fresh sauce, and melted cheese was perfect! Oddly enough, pizza became a staple for us during our week-long excursion. Every restaurant offered it, and it was often the cheapest thing on the menu. Have you seen the exchange rate for Euro vs. Dollar? In 2008, it was even worse. No wonder we ate it every day!

Thin-Crust Pizza

Something else I noticed while in Italy, was the vast differences in portion sizes. Yes, we know in America, that a bigger portion often equates to being better for the consumer, but in most European countries, people are a bit more conscious. While dining at a small café, 3-4 euros (about $6) bought me a very modest sized latte. The ornately crafted cup it was served in was no bigger than a shot glass. That’s a far cry from Starbucks’ tall, grande, and venti sizes, which are Italian inspired. 

Small Café

One last anecdote. At most restaurants in Italy, I had to get used to a few customs. When ordering water (acqua), a server usually asked if we wanted it plain, or with “gas.” Hearing this for the first time was confusing, but water with gas, simply is carbonated or sparkling water. Interesting right?

Since my trip to Italy, it’s very hard for me to visit Italian restaurants in America. I often compare them to the authentic food I once had. Honestly, Italian food is not my favorite. That’s my mother’s expertise, but I have been to some very good restaurants. Below is a small list:

Fellini’s Cafe Trattoria (106 West State Street – Media, PA)

La Famiglia Ristorante (8 South Front Street – Philadelphia, PA)

Primavera Pizza Kitchen (7 E Lancaster Ave Ardmore, PA )

Trattoria Giuseppe (4799 West Chester Pike – Newtown Square, PA)

Varalli Restaurant (231 South Broad Street – Philadelphia, PA)

If you’re looking for a country with amazing food, no doubt Italy is your destination. If not for foodventures, traveling abroad is an amazing experience. It’s an opportunity to broaden your perspective of the world and enrich your life with culture! I can’t wait to go back. Ciao 

This entry is dedicated to a very wonderful professor, who I had the privilege of traveling with on this trip, Dr. Arnold A Markley.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Uncategorized

2 responses to “A Taste of Italy

  1. I can’t help but resonate with your adventure in 2008.. I am living in Italy now for three months and blogging about every detail! You must come back soon, don’t lose sight!.. I know I keep telling myself “I have to come back!” everyday 🙂 I’ll eat and Italian pizza for you. Any must dos?

    • I definitely would take advantage of all the small carts and stands you can find in local markets. I wish I had the opportunity to buy more items there. I found amazing ties while in downtown Florence. I wish I could go back. It’s been 4 years!

Leave a comment