Banana Nut “Milkshake”

IMG_1623

In my last entry, I discussed my experience with a little spring/summer detox, as well as going without sugar for a period of time. In fact, I attempted a “Sugarless Summer.” Now, it was not a complete failure. I just didn’t follow through the entire summer. It’s not that it was impossible, it just requires effort, consistency, and an open mind to choosing and preparing your food.

Many usually ask me, “What do you eat?” or “Don’t you have a sweet tooth?” I usually answer that last question with a resounding YES! Curbing my sweet tooth had to be one of the biggest challenges I have ever faced (I know dramatic). Cutting out any type of food, especially sweets, is all about your mindset. You have to want to cut the junk in order to do it. It’s not an overnight switch. If you do that, you usually end up failing. Trust me.

So what do I eat? Well, I love fruits, all sorts, specifically lower glycemic ones, such as pears, apples, berries, etc. I’m nuts about brown rice cakes with a bit of almond butter and apple slices on top. I also love an occasional bowl of Luna & Larry’s Coconut Bliss ice cream (pretend I didn’t write that, but it’s GOOD!). 

IMG_1630

Speaking of ice cream, I love trying my take at alternative forms (non-dairy, vegan, etc). A long time ago, I posted an entry about homemade banana “ice cream” using just frozen bananas. Let’s put a spin on that!

Banana Nut “Milkshake”

Ingredients *:

1-1 ½ frozen bananas

3 Tbsp natural/raw almond butter (or nut butter of choice)

2 tsp cacao powder

¼ cup almonds

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp cinnamon

½ tsp sea salt

2-3 servings stevia (measured with stevia dispenser)

1 ¼ cup almond milk (unsweetened)

This recipe is so simple, there’s no need to create a section for the preparation.

In a heavy-duty blender, nutribullet, or some equivalent, simply blend together all of these ingredients until you receive the desired texture. For a thicker consistency, consider1 ½ – 2 bananas. For a thinner shake, cut the almonds or use less almond butter as that tends to add a lot of texture.

Stevia is very sweet, so be sure not to add more than needed. Some are still confused about this plant-based sweetener. A little goes a long way with this recipe. If you do not like stevia, consider 2 tbsp of brown rice syrup or even monk fruit, which is another natural sweetener.

Sea salt? It only enhances the flavor and gives your shake an extra kick without going overboard.

So, there’s my natural guilty pleasure for sugarless summers, or any sugarless season to come!

IMG_1624

Added a little nutmeg on top.

*Most of my ingredients are often organic, non-gmo certified, kosher, etc.

Leave a comment

Filed under Desserts, Food, Recipe

Leave a comment